Colorado · Ecology

Best colleges for Ecology in Colorado

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Colorado Boulder, Colorado State University - Fort Collins and University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus award the most Ecology degrees and certificates in Colorado: 190, 106 and 46 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Colorado colleges offer Ecology and award 414 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Ecology program, formally known as Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology, is a comprehensive study within the Biological and Biomedical Sciences field. This program is designed for students interested in understanding…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 26.13
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
414
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$35,322
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,510
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
58%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Biological Technicians
$63,180
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,18419074%—$23,331
2Colorado State University - Fort Collins
Fort Collins Public · Bachelor's degree
$35,32210667%—$19,500

Colleges awarding the most Ecology degrees in Colorado

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Colorado Boulder
Boulder Public
190$37,184
2Colorado State University - Fort Collins
Fort Collins Public
106$35,322
3University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus
Denver Public
46Not reported
4Colorado College
Colorado Springs Private not-for-profit
32Not reported
5University of Denver
Denver Private not-for-profit
12Not reported
6Fort Lewis College
Durango Public
6Not reported
7Regis University
Denver Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
8Western Colorado University
Gunnison Public
5Not reported
Show the other 1 Colorado colleges offering Ecology
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Colorado Mountain CollegeGlenwood SpringsPublic11

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Biological Technicians (SOC 19-4021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.5%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~9,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$52,000
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingScienceActive ListeningActive LearningWriting

What Biological Technicians earn in Colorado

Jobs in Colorado
1,990
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$63,180
median $59,400
Best-paying metro
$78,260
Boulder, CO

Related careers

Biological Technicians
$63,180 avg · 1,990 jobs
Conservation Scientists
$89,530 avg · 1,230 jobs
Biological Scientists, All Other
$96,660 avg · 850 jobs
Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$100,200 avg · 810 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Ecology programs in Colorado.

Which Colorado colleges award the most Ecology degrees?+

University of Colorado Boulder (190 graduates a year), Colorado State University - Fort Collins (106 graduates a year) and University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus (46 graduates a year) award the most Ecology degrees and certificates in Colorado, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Colorado colleges offer Ecology.

Which Ecology program in Colorado has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Colorado Boulder tops the list at $37,184. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Biological Technicians earn in Colorado?+

The average annual wage for Biological Technicians in Colorado is $63,180 (median $59,400), across about 1,990 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Ecology program?+

The Ecology program, formally known as Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology, is a comprehensive study within the Biological and Biomedical Sciences field. This program is designed for students interested in understanding…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, science, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Biological Technicians?+

The national job outlook is about +3.5% growth with around 9,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card