Arizona · Mathematics

Best colleges for Mathematics in Arizona

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Arizona, Arizona State University Campus Immersion and Northern Arizona University are the top bachelor's Mathematics programs in Arizona by graduate earnings. University of Arizona leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $54,781, College Scorecard. Arizona State University Campus Immersion, University of Arizona and Northern Arizona University award the most Mathematics degrees in Arizona: 105, 70 and 26 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 17 Arizona colleges offer Mathematics and award 275 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Mathematics program encompasses a broad range of topics related to abstract concepts such as numbers, geometric shapes, and functions. It is designed for students interested in exploring logical reasoning and proof to understand and…

Institutions
17
offering CIP 27.01
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
275
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$52,729
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
30%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mathematicians
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Arizona
Tucson Public · Bachelor's degree
$54,7817068%—$18,999
2Arizona State University Campus Immersion
Tempe Public · Bachelor's degree
$52,72910568%—$21,500
3Northern Arizona University
Flagstaff Public · Bachelor's degree
$49,5882661%—$19,468

Colleges awarding the most Mathematics degrees in Arizona

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Arizona State University Campus Immersion
Tempe Public
105$52,729
2University of Arizona
Tucson Public
70$54,781
3Northern Arizona University
Flagstaff Public
26$49,588
4Chandler-Gilbert Community College
Chandler Public
11Not reported
5Estrella Mountain Community College
Avondale Public
11Not reported
6Mohave Community College
Kingman Public
3Not reported
7Eastern Arizona College
Thatcher Public
2Not reported
8Cochise County Community College District
Sierra Vista Public
1Not reported
Show the other 9 Arizona colleges offering Mathematics
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Arizona Western CollegeYumaPublic14
Mesa Community CollegeMesaPublic7
Dine CollegeTsailePublic6
Phoenix CollegePhoenixPublic6
Paradise Valley Community CollegePhoenixPublic5
Glendale Community CollegeGlendalePublic3
Scottsdale Community CollegeScottsdalePublic2
South Mountain Community CollegePhoenixPublic2
Rio Salado CollegeTempePublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mathematicians (SOC 15-2021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-0.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$121,680
typically Master's degree

Top skills

MathematicsCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive LearningScienceWriting

What Mathematicians earn in Arizona

Jobs in Arizona
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Data Scientists
$111,950 avg · 4,560 jobs
Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$77,600 avg · 680 jobs
Statisticians
$97,620 avg · 440 jobs
Mathematical Science Occupations, All Other
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Mathematics programs in Arizona.

Which Arizona colleges award the most Mathematics degrees?+

Arizona State University Campus Immersion (105 graduates a year), University of Arizona (70 graduates a year) and Northern Arizona University (26 graduates a year) award the most Mathematics degrees in Arizona, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 17 Arizona colleges offer Mathematics.

What is the best college for Mathematics in Arizona?+

By graduate earnings, University of Arizona leads among bachelor's Mathematics programs in Arizona, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $54,781, College Scorecard. Arizona State University Campus Immersion and Northern Arizona University follow. By degrees awarded, Arizona State University Campus Immersion is the largest, with 105 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Mathematics program in Arizona has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Arizona tops the list at $54,781. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Mathematics program?+

The Mathematics program encompasses a broad range of topics related to abstract concepts such as numbers, geometric shapes, and functions. It is designed for students interested in exploring logical reasoning and proof to understand and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop mathematics, critical thinking, reading comprehension, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mathematicians?+

The national job outlook is about -0.7% growth with around 100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card