Best colleges for Romance Languages in Alabama
Ranked by graduates a year
The University of Alabama, Auburn University and University of North Alabama award the most Romance Languages degrees and certificates in Alabama: 29, 20 and 8 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 Alabama colleges offer Romance Languages and award 71 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Romance Languages program, formally known as Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, focuses on the study of languages, literatures, and cultures associated with Romance languages. This program is ideal for students interested…
8 institutions offering Romance Languages in Alabama
Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The University of Alabama Tuscaloosa Public | — | 29 | 73% | — | — |
| 2 | Auburn University Auburn Public | — | 20 | 82% | — | — |
| 3 | University of North Alabama Florence Public | — | 8 | 55% | — | — |
| 4 | University of South Alabama Mobile Public | — | 5 | 53% | — | — |
| 5 | University of Alabama at Birmingham Birmingham Public | — | 3 | 64% | — | — |
| 6 | Samford University Birmingham Private not-for-profit | — | 3 | 77% | $28,160 | — |
| 7 | Troy University Troy Public | — | 2 | 50% | — | — |
| 8 | Oakwood University Huntsville Private not-for-profit | — | 1 | 45% | $23,870 | — |
Colleges awarding the most Romance Languages degrees in Alabama
Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The University of Alabama Tuscaloosa Public | 29 | Not reported |
| 2 | Auburn University Auburn Public | 20 | Not reported |
| 3 | University of North Alabama Florence Public | 8 | Not reported |
| 4 | University of South Alabama Mobile Public | 5 | Not reported |
| 5 | University of Alabama at Birmingham Birmingham Public | 3 | Not reported |
| 6 | Samford University Birmingham Private not-for-profit | 3 | Not reported |
| 7 | Troy University Troy Public | 2 | Not reported |
| 8 | Oakwood University Huntsville Private not-for-profit | 1 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091).
Top skills
What Interpreters and Translators earn in Alabama
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Romance Languages programs in Alabama.
Which Alabama colleges award the most Romance Languages degrees?+
The University of Alabama (29 graduates a year), Auburn University (20 graduates a year) and University of North Alabama (8 graduates a year) award the most Romance Languages degrees and certificates in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 Alabama colleges offer Romance Languages.
How much do Interpreters and Translators earn in Alabama?+
The average annual wage for Interpreters and Translators in Alabama is $53,740 (median $46,130), across about 310 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Romance Languages program?+
The Romance Languages program, formally known as Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, focuses on the study of languages, literatures, and cultures associated with Romance languages. This program is ideal for students interested…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Interpreters and Translators?+
The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 6,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card