Private (nonprofit)

American Islamic College

Chicago, Illinois·Private not-for-profit, 4-year or above·Great Lakes·aicusa.edu
Acceptance
100.0%
+4.2pp vs peer
6-yr Graduation
Not reported
Total enrollment
29
peer median 96
Avg net price
No federal aid
Use this data
Ask Clema

About

American Islamic College (AIC) is a private Islamic university in Chicago, Illinois. It accepts students from all backgrounds and prepares students for leadership and policy making roles in American society; and for management and staff of American Muslim institutions, and; serving as a resource to American institutions and individuals for learning about Islam. In 2017, it enrolled fewer than 50 students and offered bachelor's and master's degrees in Islamic Studies and master's of Islamic Jurisprudence.

Admissions & acceptance rate

First-time freshman admissions: how selective the college is, and how many admitted students choose to enroll.

Applied
9
9 candidates competed
Admitted
9
100.0% acceptance rate
Enrolled
8
88.9% yield

Accreditation status & history

Who accredits the institution, current standing, and any past actions.

AccreditedInstitutional accreditor

Higher Learning Commission

Accredited since 2024Next review Aug 2028
PreaccreditedInstitutional accreditor

Higher Learning Commission

Accredited since 2020Next review Aug 2028
PreaccreditedInstitutional accreditor

Higher Learning Commission

Accredited since 1985

Action history · 1

  1. Feb 2024Initial Accreditation
    Higher Learning Commission

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

Tuition & cost

What families actually pay, broken down by family income.

Net price by income not reported.
Federal loans
0.0%
In-state tuition
$7,650
Out-of-state
$7,650

Academic programs at American Islamic College

Top program areas ranked by completions.

Distinct CIP programs2
UndergraduateOffered
GraduateOffered

Top program families by completions

6 total completions
01Philosophy/Religion
583.3%
02Theology
116.7%

Enrollment trends & demographics

Fall headcount, 12-month unduplicated enrollment, and student body composition.

Fall total
29
12-mo unduplicated
45
Undergraduate
27
Graduate
18

Gender split

Men
47%21
Women
53%24

Race / ethnicity composition

White
31.3%
Black
25.0%
Non-resident
18.8%
Unknown
18.8%
Asian
6.3%

Student-faculty ratio

Student-to-faculty ratio and instructional staff counts.

Student-to-faculty
3.0:1

American Islamic College vs Peer comparison

The peer institutions American Islamic College selected for federal comparison reporting.

GraduationRetentionSelectivityEnrollmentAffordabilityYield
This institutionPeer median

A larger shape on any axis means this institution outperforms its peers on that dimension. For acceptance rate and net price, lower raw values are inverted so "more selective" and "more affordable" appear larger.

Carnegie
SubjectAmerican Islamic College
Not reported100.0%29No federal aid
Open admission30No federal aidCommunity College
No freshman cohortOpen admission156No federal aid
2%54.5%$12,197Baccalaureate
35%78.9%200No federal aid
Too newOpen admission57Not reported
Grad-onlyGrad-only145Grad-only
Grad-onlyGrad-only12Grad-only
Not reported100.0%65$18,832Special Focus Two-Year: Health Professions
Grad-onlyGrad-only65Grad-only
Grad-onlyGrad-only110Grad-only
Grad-only75.0%84$34,320
78.8%96$42,908
Too new99.0%34No federal aid
Open admission136No federal aidCommunity College
No freshman cohort100.0%196No federal aid
Grad-onlyGrad-onlyGrad-only
Grad-onlyGrad-only128Grad-only
Not reported95.8%389No federal aid
Grad-onlyGrad-only52Grad-only
6%Open admission95$9,229
Not reportedOpen admission187$22,593
0%Open admission983$21,580
33%Open admission137$33,234
0%Open admission65No federal aid
Peer group median4%95.8%96$22,087

Institutions like American Islamic College

Explore the federal data for institutions in American Islamic College's comparison group.

American Islamic College Institutional Research office

The IR team responsible for the institution's federal reporting.

Office
Office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness
Email
info [at] aicusa.edu
Phone
773-281-4700
Address
640 W Irving Park Rd, Chicago, IL 60613

The OIRE utilizes surveys and data for institutional strategic planning and quality improvement in areas such as student support services, success initiatives, budget considerations, assessment of learning and teaching, and evaluation of recruitment and admissions practices.

Visit IR office page
Team
1 member
  • Romana Manzoor
    Executive Vice President for Accreditation, Institutional Effectiveness & Development

Reports & documents (1)

Dashboards, factbooks, data dictionaries, and other reference material published by the IR office.

Frequently asked questions about American Islamic College

Quick answers to the questions most often asked about American Islamic College.

What is the acceptance rate at American Islamic College?

American Islamic College's acceptance rate is 100.0% (9 admitted from 9 applicants), based on the latest IPEDS.

What is the graduation rate at American Islamic College?

American Islamic College does not have a reported federal graduation rate. Graduation-rate data was not reported in the latest federal IPEDS collection.

How many students attend American Islamic College?

American Islamic College reports a total enrollment of 29 students per the latest IPEDS.

What is the average net price at American Islamic College?

American Islamic College does not have a reported average net price. This institution does not participate in federal (Title IV) student aid, so no federal net price is calculated.

What is the yield rate at American Islamic College?

American Islamic College's yield rate is 88.9%, the share of admitted students who enrolled, per the latest IPEDS.

Where is American Islamic College located?

American Islamic College is located in Chicago, Illinois 60613.

Who runs Institutional Research at American Islamic College?

American Islamic College's IR work is done by the Office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness.

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.
DAPIP accreditationContinuously refreshed
Accreditation status for institutions and programs, reported by recognized accrediting agencies.
Federal Pell Grant & loan volumeAY 2025–26 (through Q3), through March 31, 2026
Pell Grant and Direct Loan recipient counts, award amounts, and disbursement volume by institution and award year.
Cohort Default RatesFY 2022 official rates
Institution-level federal student loan default rates, measuring borrowers who default within three years of entering repayment.
Equity in Athletics (EADA)Academic year 2024–25
Athletics participation, coaching, revenues, and expenses by sport and gender for Title IV institutions.
Campus Safety & SecurityData through reporting year 2024
Criminal offenses, arrests, disciplinary actions, VAWA offenses, and fire statistics reported by campus under the Clery Act.

Have a question this page can’t answer?

Ask Clema anything about American Islamic College and its peers — plain language in, cited answers out, in minutes instead of days.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card

American Islamic College: Enrollment, Tuition and Outcomes Data | Clema.ai