Private (nonprofit)

Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary - Overbrook

Ambler, Pennsylvania·Private not-for-profit, 4-year or above·Mid East·scs.edu

Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook's acceptance rate is 100.0% (2024). Its six-year graduation rate is 42% and its four-year rate is 0% (2024). Tuition and fees are $25,774 (2024). Fall enrollment is 170 students, and 214 enrolled over the full 12-month year (2024). Source: IPEDS.

Acceptance
100.0%
+16.3pp vs peer
6-yr graduation
42%
+2.0pp vs peer
Total enrollment
170
peer median 178
Avg net price
Not reported
—
Use this data
Ask Clema

About

Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary is a Roman Catholic seminary in Ambler, Pennsylvania, that is under the jurisdiction of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. The oldest Catholic institution of higher learning in the Philadelphia region, the seminary is named after Cardinal Charles Borromeo, an Italian saint from the Counter-Reformation era of the late 1500s.

Admissions & acceptance rate

First-time freshman admissions: how selective the college is, and how many admitted students choose to enroll.

Applied
10
10 candidates competed
Admitted
10
100.0% acceptance rate
Enrolled
10
100.0% yield

Graduation rate & outcomes

Completion, retention, and the equity gap between Pell and non-Pell students.

Overall completion
42%
4-year graduation
0%
6-year graduation (bachelor’s)
42%+2.0pp vs peer
Full-time retention
58%

Pell equity

50.0pp gap
Pell recipients
0%0 of 2
Non-Pell (all)
50%5 of 10
No Federal Aid
50%5 of 10

Non-Pell students graduate at a 50.0-point higher rate than Pell recipients.

Source: IPEDS Graduation Rates (GR) — Pell/SSL cohort, 2024 cohort.

Program outcomes

Federal Program Performance Data: how each program's graduate earnings and debt measure up under Financial Value Transparency and Gainful Employment.

Of 5 Title IV programs, 0 pass the federal Gainful Employment test and 0 fail. 5 have graduate earnings too small to publish, so they carry no pass/fail verdict.

Total programs
5
Passing
0
0.0% of portfolio
Failing (GE)
0
0.0% of portfolio
Fail rate
0.0%
-0.6pp vs 0.6% national

Pass / fail distribution

5programs
  • Passing0 · 0.0%
  • No Data5 · 100.0%
  • Failing0 · 0.0%

Severity spectrum

Critical
0
Severe
0
Recoverable
0
At Risk
0
Watch
0
Safe
0
No data
5

Tiers band programs by how far graduate earnings sit above or below the benchmark, from Critical (below −15%) through Safe (above +25%). No data means earnings were privacy-suppressed.

Accreditation status & history

Who accredits the institution, current standing, and any past actions.

AccreditedInstitutional accreditor

Middle States Commission on Higher Education

Accredited since 1971Next review Jan 2027
AccreditedInstitutional accreditor

Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools

Accredited since 1970Next review Mar 2029

Action history · 4

  1. Feb 2024Grant Substantive Change: Other
    Middle States Commission on Higher Education
  2. Jun 2022Approved for Distance Education
    Middle States Commission on Higher Education
  3. Jun 2019Renewal of Accreditation
    Middle States Commission on Higher Education
  4. Feb 2019Renewal of Accreditation
    Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

Tuition & cost

What families actually pay, broken down by family income.

Net price by income not reported.
Federal loans
4.9%
Tuition and fees
$25,774

Federal aid volume & trends

Pell grants and federal Direct Loan volume disbursed to students, and how they've trended.

In AY 2024–25, 6 students received $33K in Pell grants, alongside $63K in federal Direct Loans.

Pell recipients
6
AY 2024–25
Pell disbursed
$33K
$32,620 total
Direct Loans
$63K
14 loan awards

Pell recipients · 5-year trend

0k
’20
0k
’21
0k
’22
0k
’23
0k
’24

Loan volume by type · AY 2024–25

Subsidized$18K
4 loan awards
Unsubsidized · UG$45K
10 loan awards

Loan awards count each loan type a student holds, not unique borrowers; one student may carry several (e.g. subsidized and unsubsidized), so the per-type figures are the reliable detail.

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

Student loan default rate

The share of student borrowers who default on federal loans within three years, against the national benchmark.

Of 49 borrowers who entered repayment, 0 (0.0%) defaulted within three years — below the 2.3% national rate.

Default rate
0.0%
-2.3pp vs 2.3% national
Borrowers in repayment
49
Defaulted
0
Measurement window
3 years
Federal CDR standard

Default rate vs national, by cohort

2016
0.0%
2017
0.0%
2018
0.0%
2019
0.0%
2020*
0.0%
This institutionNational rate

* Cohorts 2020 and later read near 0% because the federal COVID-19 payment pause (CARES Act) suspended defaults nationwide. These years reflect a national policy, not institutional performance; the 2019 cohort is the last measured under normal repayment.

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

Academic programs at Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook

Top program areas ranked by completions.

Distinct CIP programs3
UndergraduateOffered
GraduateOffered

Top program families by completions

50 total completions
01Theology
4182.0%
02Philosophy/Religion
918.0%

Enrollment trends & demographics

Fall headcount, 12-month unduplicated enrollment, and student body composition.

Fall total
170
12-mo unduplicated
214
Undergraduate
42
Graduate
172

Gender split

Men
81%173
Women
19%41

Race / ethnicity composition

White
73.7%
Hispanic
21.1%
Black
2.6%
Two or more
2.6%

Campus safety & crime statistics

Reported on-campus crimes over the last three years, including violence and hate crimes.

Criminal offenses · per 1,000 students
0.00
0 offenses · 173 students

3-year trend

0.002 yrs ago0.001 yr ago0.00Latest
Offenses · 3-yr
0
Last three years
VAWA · 3-yr
0
DV, dating, stalking
Hate crimes · 3-yr
0
Res-hall fires · 3-yr
0

Criminal offenses by type

No criminal offenses reported.

By location

0total

    VAWA offenses

    0
    Domestic violence
    0
    Dating violence
    0
    Stalking
    0 total under the Violence Against Women Act.

    Hate crimes by bias

    No hate crimes reported.

    Arrests vs disciplinary referrals

    CategoryArrestsReferrals
    Weapons00
    Drugs00
    Liquor00

    Residence-hall fires

    No residence-hall fires reported.

    Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

    Student-faculty ratio

    Student-to-faculty ratio and instructional staff counts.

    Student-to-faculty
    4.0:1
    Instructional staff (full-time equivalent)
    17

    Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook vs Peer comparison

    The peer institutions Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook selected for federal comparison reporting.

    6-yr gradRetentionSelectivityEnrollmentAffordabilityYield
    This institutionPeer median

    A larger shape on any axis means this institution outperforms its peers on that dimension. For acceptance rate and net price, lower raw values are inverted so "more selective" and "more affordable" appear larger.

    Carnegie
    SubjectSaint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook
    42%100.0%170Not reported—
    Appalachian Bible College
    52%77.8%223$11,579—
    Baptist Missionary Association Theological Seminary
    Not reported28.6%75$3,535—
    Beth Medrash Govoha
    No freshman cohortNo freshman entry9,657No freshman cohort—
    Bethany Global University
    28%92.9%100$37,790—
    Carolina College of Biblical Studies
    0%Open admission212$21,322—
    Central Christian College of the Bible
    23%21.3%189$14,356—
    Central Yeshiva Tomchei Tmimim Lubavitz
    3%87.4%986$21,437—
    Clear Creek Baptist Bible College
    38%Open admission183$10,949—
    Heritage Bible College
    25%Open admission26$18,684—
    Heritage Christian University
    67%90.0%178$15,426—
    Mesivta Torah Vodaath Rabbinical Seminary
    50%80.0%593$4,876—
    Northpoint Bible College
    52%Open admission122$23,635—
    Ozark Christian College
    58%93.6%736$20,580—
    Rabbinical College Bobover Yeshiva Bnei Zion
    83%Open admission548$9,136—
    Rabbinical College of America
    22%95.1%194$15,628—
    Reformed University
    50%73.4%294$15,316—
    Saint John's Seminary
    No freshman cohortNo freshman entry86No freshman cohort—
    Sh'or Yoshuv Rabbinical College
    0%Not reported156$11,600—
    Shasta Bible College and Graduate School
    50%100.0%25$30,437—
    St. John Vianney College Seminary
    83%92.9%79$35,190—
    SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary
    14%40.7%319$21,680—
    Talmudic College of Florida
    63%Open admission28$17,000—
    Yeshiva Karlin Stolin
    23%78.9%164$6,393—
    Yeshiva of Nitra Rabbinical College
    11%Open admission264$10,880—
    Yeshivah Gedolah Rabbinical College
    0%Open admission60$12,587—
    Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah
    53%72.2%87$8,850—
    Peer group median40%83.7%178$15,371

    Institutions like Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook

    Explore the federal data for institutions in Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook's comparison group.

    • West Virginia

      Appalachian Bible College

      Grad rate
      52%
      Admit rate
      77.8%
      Enrollment
      223
      Net price
      $11,579
    • Texas

      Baptist Missionary Association Theological Seminary

      Grad rate
      Not reported
      Admit rate
      28.6%
      Enrollment
      75
      Net price
      $3,535
    • New Jersey

      Beth Medrash Govoha

      Grad rate
      No freshman cohort
      Admit rate
      No freshman entry
      Enrollment
      9,657
      Net price
      No freshman cohort
    • Minnesota

      Bethany Global University

      Grad rate
      28%
      Admit rate
      92.9%
      Enrollment
      100
      Net price
      $37,790
    • North Carolina

      Carolina College of Biblical Studies

      Grad rate
      0%
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      212
      Net price
      $21,322
    • Missouri

      Central Christian College of the Bible

      Grad rate
      23%
      Admit rate
      21.3%
      Enrollment
      189
      Net price
      $14,356
    • New York

      Central Yeshiva Tomchei Tmimim Lubavitz

      Grad rate
      3%
      Admit rate
      87.4%
      Enrollment
      986
      Net price
      $21,437
    • Kentucky

      Clear Creek Baptist Bible College

      Grad rate
      38%
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      183
      Net price
      $10,949
    • North Carolina

      Heritage Bible College

      Grad rate
      25%
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      26
      Net price
      $18,684
    • Alabama

      Heritage Christian University

      Grad rate
      67%
      Admit rate
      90.0%
      Enrollment
      178
      Net price
      $15,426
    • New York

      Mesivta Torah Vodaath Rabbinical Seminary

      Grad rate
      50%
      Admit rate
      80.0%
      Enrollment
      593
      Net price
      $4,876
    • Massachusetts

      Northpoint Bible College

      Grad rate
      52%
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      122
      Net price
      $23,635
    • Missouri

      Ozark Christian College

      Grad rate
      58%
      Admit rate
      93.6%
      Enrollment
      736
      Net price
      $20,580
    • New York

      Rabbinical College Bobover Yeshiva Bnei Zion

      Grad rate
      83%
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      548
      Net price
      $9,136
    • New Jersey

      Rabbinical College of America

      Grad rate
      22%
      Admit rate
      95.1%
      Enrollment
      194
      Net price
      $15,628
    • Georgia

      Reformed University

      Grad rate
      50%
      Admit rate
      73.4%
      Enrollment
      294
      Net price
      $15,316
    • Massachusetts

      Saint John's Seminary

      Grad rate
      No freshman cohort
      Admit rate
      No freshman entry
      Enrollment
      86
      Net price
      No freshman cohort
    • New York

      Sh'or Yoshuv Rabbinical College

      Grad rate
      0%
      Admit rate
      Not reported
      Enrollment
      156
      Net price
      $11,600
    • California

      Shasta Bible College and Graduate School

      Grad rate
      50%
      Admit rate
      100.0%
      Enrollment
      25
      Net price
      $30,437
    • Florida

      St. John Vianney College Seminary

      Grad rate
      83%
      Admit rate
      92.9%
      Enrollment
      79
      Net price
      $35,190
    • California

      SUM Bible College and Theological Seminary

      Grad rate
      14%
      Admit rate
      40.7%
      Enrollment
      319
      Net price
      $21,680
    • Florida

      Talmudic College of Florida

      Grad rate
      63%
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      28
      Net price
      $17,000
    • New York

      Yeshiva Karlin Stolin

      Grad rate
      23%
      Admit rate
      78.9%
      Enrollment
      164
      Net price
      $6,393
    • New York

      Yeshiva of Nitra Rabbinical College

      Grad rate
      11%
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      264
      Net price
      $10,880
    • Florida

      Yeshivah Gedolah Rabbinical College

      Grad rate
      0%
      Admit rate
      Open admission
      Enrollment
      60
      Net price
      $12,587
    • New York

      Yeshivath Shaar Hatorah

      Grad rate
      53%
      Admit rate
      72.2%
      Enrollment
      87
      Net price
      $8,850

    Reports & documents (2)

    Dashboards, factbooks, data dictionaries, and other reference material published by the IR office.

    Frequently asked questions about Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook

    Quick answers to the questions most often asked about Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook.

    What is the acceptance rate at Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook?

    Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook's acceptance rate is 100.0% (10 admitted from 10 applicants), based on the latest IPEDS.

    What is the graduation rate at Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook?

    Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook's six-year graduation rate is 42% and its four-year rate is 0%, per 2024 IPEDS data.

    How many students attend Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook?

    Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook reports a total enrollment of 170 students per the latest IPEDS.

    What is the average net price at Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook?

    Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook does not have a reported average net price. Net-price data was not reported in the latest federal collection.

    What is the yield rate at Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook?

    Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook's yield rate is 100.0%, the share of admitted students who enrolled, per the latest IPEDS.

    Where is Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook located?

    Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook is located in Ambler, Pennsylvania 19002.

    About the data on this page

    Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

    IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
    Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
    College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
    Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
    FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
    Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.
    DAPIP accreditationContinuously refreshed
    Accreditation status for institutions and programs, reported by recognized accrediting agencies.
    Federal Pell Grant & loan volumeAY 2025–26 (through Q3), through March 31, 2026
    Pell Grant and Direct Loan recipient counts, award amounts, and disbursement volume by institution and award year.
    Cohort Default RatesFY 2022 official rates
    Institution-level federal student loan default rates, measuring borrowers who default within three years of entering repayment.
    Equity in Athletics (EADA)Academic year 2024–25
    Athletics participation, coaching, revenues, and expenses by sport and gender for Title IV institutions.
    Campus Safety & SecurityData through reporting year 2024
    Criminal offenses, arrests, disciplinary actions, VAWA offenses, and fire statistics reported by campus under the Clery Act.

    Have a question this page can’t answer?

    Ask Clema anything about Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary-Overbrook and its peers — plain language in, cited answers out, in minutes instead of days.

    Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card